Basic Automatic Weather Station

Archive of General Weather
Forum rules
These topics are a read-only archive and may be subject to out-of-date information.

For today's weather discussion head to: New Zealand Weather & Climate
tgsnoopy

Basic Automatic Weather Station

Unread post by tgsnoopy »

Ok, ok of curiosity, I see some of you have some fantastic websites giving all sorts of detailed analysis of the weather.

I'm wondering how much $$$ is required to establish something like that?

I'm a Radio Technician by Trade and our Radio Site includes a few Access Points used for linking networks, a DSL Net connection is therefore accessable at the site (If you are from Tauranga area, don't bother, you'd need a recognised MAC address).

What I'm wondering is if putting a weather station of sorts up at the radio site is going to be an option, and if so how much it will cost. There is a PC running XP Pro (and other applications of course) at the site.

The site (Kopukairua) S 37° 43.865 E 176° 14.137 (U14 954806) is at an altitude of about 260m over looking the greater Western BOP (Welcome Bay hills, between Tauranga & Te Puke). It's not quite at the summit, that location being occupied by a 48m mast belonging to BCL (read TV & Radio stations etc). Our site has a 12m Mast (Communications & one FM Radio station).

We will soon be rigging in some additional feeder cables, it would be a good chance to include an additional cable(s) for a weather station. I doubt I'll presently be able to find funds to do something, but I'm considering adding cables for it in case we decide to add something later.

Any thoughts from those who have been down this path before? I'm just thinking of a future project.

At least this topic might spur thoughts others may have too :)
ricky

Unread post by ricky »

Hi from another tech!