New User - New Station

Archive of NZ Weather & Climate
Forum rules
These topics are a read-only archive and may be subject to out-of-date information.

For today's weather discussion head to: New Zealand Weather & Climate
Dal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

New User - New Station

Unread post by Dal »

Greetings,
I'm brand new to this forum and I'm also brand new to the world of home weather stations. My wife, knowing that I've always wanted a home weather station has purchased me a La Crosse WS2308 from Scientific Sales (we're still awaiting delivery). I'm aware that the WS2308 isn't exactly the top of the line but it was all she could afford... so I'm not knocking her generosity :)
My first questions are: what would be the best way to maximize the use of this particular station and what should I be aware of in terms of reliability (breakdowns, etc) with the WS2308? Another question I have (just to show my general ignorance) is what would be the best position to mount the temperature sensor? We're in Mt. Roskill, Auckland and the house faces North. I had thought that up under the north eaves might be best but would appreciate any advice.
I'm sure I'll have more questions once the WS2308 actually arrives and is installed and I'm hoping you'll all bear with my ignorance :)

Very many thanks,
Dal
Manukau heads obs

Re: New User - New Station

Unread post by Manukau heads obs »

Hi
the temp/hum sensor that comes with it, is not adequte to give reliable readings
You really need to build yourself a stevenson screen of some sorts (louvered painted white enclosure (idealy double (offset) louvres)
but even white plastic pudding plates stacked upside down on a rod through the middle with a gap for air flow and a cut out section to put the sensor into would be better than nothing

also if connecting to a PC you need to replace the cheap telephone type wiring with shielded twisted pair wires, due to interference problems giving false readings.