Some good local thunderstorm case-studies?

Archive of NZ Weather & Climate
Forum rules
These topics are a read-only archive and may be subject to out-of-date information.

For today's weather discussion head to: New Zealand Weather & Climate
xealeel
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Some good local thunderstorm case-studies?

Unread post by xealeel »

Hi all
I am just starting out on a PhD in Christchurch studying locally-initiated thunderstorms in New Zealand – looking specifically at how the WRF-ARW mesoscale model can be adapted for the NZ situation – and am currently searching for some case-studies around New Zealand. I've found a few possibilities: Canterbury (27 Oct 2002; 17 Jan 2009; 25 Mar 2012), Hawkes Bay (5 Dec 2011), the Waikato (27 Jan 2010), Wellington/Hutt/Porirua (11 Feb 2007), Kapiti (15 Feb 2007). However, I was wondering if any of you would be willing to share some of your expertise with me – either regarding specific storms I've already mentioned, or whether anyone had any other memorable storms from around the country to suggest?

I have some pretty strict criteria in that I am only looking for storms that have local scale triggers (such as land-sea breezes, surface heating) ie NOT associated with troughs or fronts. Not so important is that I am keen on relatively recent ones in order to utilise more data for verification (for example, any storm subsequent to September 2000 can utilise lightning data; any storm on the West Coast after 23 Nov 2011 can utilise their new radar data).